What is Orkestra?

Orkestra - Basque Institute of Competitiveness is…

An initiative of the University of Deusto, through the Deusto Foundation, for the study of competitiveness and regional development through different lines of research, with three goals:

  • Contribute to the improvement of the Basque Country's competitiveness
  • Promote the improvement of citizens' wellbeing
  • Create knowledge of regional competitiveness

Formed in 2006, the Orkestra team promotes transformative research. This type of research is defined by analysis, reflection, evaluation and the proposal of actions, in a permanent form, aimed at providing innovative answers for the resolution of the challenges considered, while research knowledge is acquired.

To this end Orkestra, who since its beginnings has been an example of success in public-private cooperation, works with a large number of networks, businesses, governments and institutions on numerous projects. In this way, aside from being an agent of change to drive competitiveness in the Basque Country, it has become today an international model in the analysis of regional competitiveness in a global environment.


Deusto Foundation




Orkestra has the support of public bodies and private benchmark companies concerning territorial competitiveness, which endow this transforming research project with stability. These institutions fulfil an active role in the organisational structure of the Institute and provide essential collaboration in the carrying out of the Institute's projects and activities.


Global partners

gobierno vasco
gipuzkoako foru aldundia3
diputacion foral bizkaia
Diputacion Foral Araba
Bilboko Udala
logo bbk


Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Iván Martén Uliarte
Representative of Deusto Foundation

Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors

Emiliano López Atxurra
Petronor Representative

Members of the Board of Directors

Ane Agirre Romarate
Representative of Deusto Foundation
Iñigo Ansola Kareaga
EVE Representative
General Director

Andrés Arizkorreta García
Representative of Deusto Foundation

Ainara Basurko Urkiri
Provincial Council of Bizkaia Representative
Deputy for Economic Promotion

Patxi Calleja Mediano
Iberdrola Representative
Regulation Manager at Iberdrola Spain

Álvaro de la Rica Aspiunza
Representative of Deusto Foundation

Estibaliz Hernáez Laviña
Basque Government Representative
Deputy Minister for Technology, Innovation and Competitiveness

Ane insausti Altuna
Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa Representative
Deputy of Economic Development and Strategic Projects 

Xabier Ochandiano Martínez
Bilbao City Council Representative
Councillor for Economic Development, Trade and Employment

Jon Larrinaga Apraiz
Representative of Deusto Foundation

Víctor Urcelay Yarza (Secretario)
Vice-Rector for Entrepreneurship and Continuing Education at the University of Deusto

Xabier Sagredo Ormaza
BBK Foundation Representative

Saray Zárate Fernández de Landa
Provincial Council of Alava Representative
Deputy of Economic Development and Innovation



Unai Alaña Díaz-de-Guereñu
Iberdrola Substitute Representative
Regulatory Analysis Manager


Unai Andueza Iraeta 
Provincial Council of Gipuzkoa Substitute Representative 
General Director of Economic Development

Alberto José Fernández González
Basque Government Substitute Representative
Technology and Strategy Director
Jon Goikoetxea Goiri
BBK Foundation Substitute Representative
Director of Research and Strategy

Ander Larrinaga Saiz
Provincial Council of Alava Substitute Representative
Director of Economic Development and Innovation

Cristina Múgica Vargas
Provincial Council of Bizkaia Substitute Representative
Director of Territorial Competitiveness and Tourism

Elias Unzueta Etxeita
Petronor Substitute Representative
Engineering Manager



Honorary Positions

Honorary Chairmen

Ignacio Mª Echeberria Monteberria
Chairman of Orkestra from 2011 to 2019

José Luis Larrea Jiménez de Vicuña
Chairman of Orkestra from 2006 to 2011

Michael E. Porter
Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness (ISC), Universidad de Harvard


Honorary Members

Jon Azua Mendia
Chairman of EnovatingLab

José Luis Curbelo Ranero
Chairman and CEO of Cofides

José Ignacio Goirigolzarri Tellaeche
Chairman of CaixaBank

Guillermo Ulacia Arnaiz


Advisory Board


Christian Ketels (Presidente) 
Visiting Executive Harvard Business School. Senior Research Fellow Stockholm School of Economics

Ana Teresa T. Lehmann
Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Porto

Karen Maguire
Acting Head of Division: Local Employment, Skills and Social Innovation at the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Andrés Rodríguez-Pose
Princesa de Asturias Chair and Professor of Economic Geography, London School of Economics

Xabier Goenaga
Expert in Innovation Policies, SMEs, 3rd mission of Universities, China R&I and Economic Impact of Policies